How Many Dogs and Cats Can You Own in Arkansas?

In the state of Arkansas, you can legally own up to 4 dogs and 4 cats, depending on the municipality wherein you reside. Each municipality in Arkansas has its animal ordinances regulating the number of pets a resident may have in their house.

A Great Dane and a Burmese cat

These regulations are in place to ensure our household pets are properly cared for. So in this article, we will look at the maximum number of dogs and cats permitted per household, as well as other pet laws in some Arkansas municipalities.

Little Rock, AR

In Little Rock, Arkansas, no more than 4 cats and 4 dogs are allowed per household. However, Little Rock residents may obtain a kennel permit to own more than 4 dogs and 4 cats. It is required by law in the City of Little Rock that all cats and dogs over the age of 4 months be vaccinated for rabies and be licensed and wear the license on a collar or harness at all times.

You must not permit your dog or cat to be running at large in the City. When traveling with your dog in a vehicle, the canine must be confined within a crate or carrier, or inside vehicle cab. Failure to provide adequate shelter, food, water and medical care to your dog or cat is considered Animal Cruelty in the City of Little Rock, AR, a crime that could result in fines up to $1,000.

In the City of Little Rock, Solid Waste Services is in charge of picking up and disposing of dead animals.

Furthermore, some dog breeds, including the American Staffordshire Terrier and American Pit Bull Terrier, are deemed "Potentially Dangerous Breeds" and therefore must be registered with the City for a fee of $150. Potentially Dangerous Dogs in Little Rock must be Confined by a Fence or in a Structure and no resident may own more than 2 Potentially Dangerous Dogs, according to Little Rock Animal Services.

Fayetteville, AR

The maximum number of dogs and cats you can own in the City of Fayetteville depends on the size of your property. One pet is allowed per every 100 square feet of your home, meaning you can legally own seven pets (a combination of dogs and cats or other domestic animals) if your house is 750 square feet. However, you need to provide your pets with adequate care and keep them in a sanitary condition.

The State of Arkansas requires by law that all cats and dogs be vaccinated against rabies. Cats and dogs must be under the physical control of their owner while in public places within the City of Fayetteville.

Fort Smith, AR

In the City of Fort Smith, Arkansas, residents may keep up to 6 dogs in their houses. A kennel license is required to own 7 or more dogs in Fort Smith, AR. The City, however, does not place a limit on the number of cats residents can own, meaning Fort Smith residents may have as many cats as they can care for. It is mandated that all dogs and cats be microchipped as a means of identification.

Pet owners in Fort Smith, AR, are responsible for the immediate removal of excrement left by their dog or cat on any public or private property within the city.

The license fee for dogs and cats that are altered and microchipped is Fort Smith in $10, and $60 for unaltered and non-microchipped dogs and cats. For pet owners who are 65 years of age or older, the license fee for altered and microchipped pets is free, and $20 for unaltered and non-microchipped pets. For more pet laws, refer to Fort Smith's Code of Ordinances.

Jonesboro, AR

The City of Jonesboro in Craighead County, Arkansas, allows no more than 5 pets per household. This means Jonesboro residents may either have 3 dogs and 2 cats or any combination of the two animals in their houses. Pet owners are required by law to immediately remove and dispose of in a sanitary manner any solid waste deposited by their dog or cat on any public street, sidewalk, gutter, or park within the City limits of Jonesboro.

Furthermore, it is illegal in Jonesboro for any pet owner to allow their cat or dog, by loud and frequent barking and howling, to disturb the peace of any nearby neighbor.

North Little Rock, AR

Located in Pulaski County, Arkansas, the City of North Little Rock allows no more than 4 pets over 12 weeks of age per household within the city limits. North Little Rock residents can either have 4 dogs or 4 cats or a combination of both animals. North Little Rock pet owners are prohibited from allowing their dog or cat to run at large within the city. In addition, it is illegal for any North Little Rock pet owner to keep a dog which, by loud and frequent barking and howling, disturbs the peace of any nearby neighbor.

Furthermore, there is a vicious dog law in the city of North Little Rock, AR. A dog is deemed vicious in North Little Rock if it attacks a person or another animal without provocation.

Other Municipalities

  • Bentonville, AR: Allows no more than four dogs. No limit on cats
  • Pine Bluff, AR: Allows no more than 4 dogs or cats. Pit Bulls are restricted
  • Hot Springs, AR: Allows more than 4 household pets unless a kennel permit is obtained
  • Sherwood, AR: Residents may keep no more than 4 dogs and/or cats
  • Texarkana, AR: Allows no more than 4 dogs and/or cats per household
  • Jacksonville, AR: A maximum of 4 cats and/or dogs is allowed per household
  • Cabot, AR: Allows no more than 4 household pets (dogs and cats)
  • Searcy, AR: No more than 4 dogs are allowed per household. No limit on cats
  • Bryant, AR: Allows no more than 4 dogs. No limit on cats
  • Siloam Springs, AR: Allows up to 4 dogs or cats pet residence
  • Blytheville, AR: Residents may own 5 dogs and or cats

Post a Comment

Post a Comment (0)

- -
To Top