Savannah Cat Legal and Illegal States 2024

As a breed of hybrid cat, the Savannah cat is an offspring of an African Serval cat and a domestic cat. The first Savannah cat was born in the United States on April 7, 1986. When Judee Frank crossbred a female Siamese cat with a male African Serval, they produced a female kitten she named Savannah, which was the first Savannah cat. In 2001, the International Cat Association accepted the Savannah cat as a new registered breed. In 2012, the Savannah cat was accepted as an eligible championship breed by the International Cat Association.

Because Savannah cats are a cross between a wild cat and a domestic cat, a few states do not allow their residents to keep them as pets. In some states, F5 and later generations of Savannah cats are legal to keep as pets. The F1 Savannah cat is the first generation offspring of a male Serval cat and a female domestic cat. The F2 Savannah cat, being the second generation offspring, is a cross between a male F1 Savannah cat and a female domestic cat. The F3 Savannah cat is a cross between a male F2 Savannah cat and a domestic cat, and so on.

Two Savannah Cats

Early-generation Savannah cats, F1 to F3, are banned in a few states in part because they are closer to their wild ancestry. According to Savvy Paws, early-generation Savannah cats, F1, F2, and F3, are often more energetic and have a wilder and more unpredictable nature than later-generation Savannah cats, F4, F5, F6, F7, and F8, which are easier to fit into the average lifestyle. Furthermore, F4 and later-generation Savannah Cats are generally considered to be 20 to 10 percent wild. So, with all this in mind, let's look at the states in which Savannah cats are legal and the states wherein they are not.

Washington, D.C. allows all generations of Savannah cats.

States That Allow All Generations of Savannah Cats

If you live in any of the following states, you are free to keep any generation of Savannah cats as a pet.
  1. Alabama
  2. Arizona
  3. Arkansas
  4. California
  5. Connecticut
  6. Florida
  7. Idaho
  8. Illinois
  9. Indiana
  10. Kansas
  11. Kentucky
  12. Louisiana
  13. Maine
  14. Maryland
  15. Michigan
  16. Minnesota
  17. Mississippi
  18. Missouri
  19. Montana
  20. Nevada
  21. New Jersey
  22. New Mexico
  23. North Carolina
  24. North Dakota
  25. Ohio
  26. Oklahoma
  27. Oregon
  28. Pennsylvania
  29. South Carolina
  30. South Dakota
  31. Tennessee
  32. Utah
  33. Virginia
  34. Washington
  35. West Virginia
  36. Wisconsin
  37. Wyoming

In some Indiana counties, residents may need to obtain a permit to own a Savannah cat. Cities in New Mexico have their own rules regarding the ownership of hybrid animals and may require owners to obtain a permit before keeping a Savannah cat. Similar ordinances are in place in some Oregon cities and counties. In Washington State, all Savannah cats are legal except in the city of Seattle. In other words, you can't own a Savannah cat if you live in the city of Seattle, Washington State.

Delaware residents can't own a Savannah cat without a permit.

States That Allow F4 and Later Generations of Savannah Cats

You can own an F4 or a later-generation Savannah Cat if you live in the following states:

  1. Alaska
  2. Colorado
  3. Iowa
  4. Massachusetts
  5. New Hampshire
  6. Vermont

You can own F4 and later generations of Savannah Cats anywhere in Colorado except in the city limits of Denver. According to Denver legislature, Savannah Cats are classified as 'wild or dangerous.'

Savannah Cats Legality in New York and Texas

In New York State, F5 and later generations of Savannah Cats are allowed. However, in New York City, all Savannah Cats are not allowed.

In the state of Texas, Savannah Cats are illegal in most counties. You can own a Savannah Cat with a permit if you live in the following Texas counties:

  1. Aransas County, TX
  2. Bell County, TX
  3. Coryell County, TX
  4. Ector County, TX
  5. Guadalupe County, TX
  6. Harris County, TX
  7. Kaufman County, TX
  8. Lubbock County, TX
  9. Mason County, TX
  10. Ward County, TX
  11. Montgomery County, TX
Savannah Cats may be allowed with strict permitting in other Texas counties, which are not listed among the above counties. So, I suggest you check your local county animal ordinances or contact your local clerk before acquiring a Savannah Cat in Texas.

States in Which Savannah Cats are Illegal

It is illegal to own a Savannah Cat in the following states:
  1. Georgia
  2. Hawaii
  3. Nebraska
  4. Rhode Island

How Much Do Savannah Cats Cost In The United States?

In the US, the price of Savannah Cats typically depends on their filial generation. The price of earlier generation Savannah cats (F1 to F3) is usually higher because breeders say they face challenges while trying to produce them. On the other hand, later-generation Savannahs (F4 to F8) are reasonably priced because breeders say they are much easier to produce. Below are the prices of Savannah cats based on their filial generations in the United States.

  • F1 Savannah cats: $10k to $20k
  • F2 Savannah cats: $5k to $8k
  • F3 Savannah cats: $3k to $6k
  • F4 Savannah cats: $1.5k to $5k
  • F5 Savannah cats: $1.2k to $4k
  • F6 Savannah cats: $1k to $4k

By all accounts, Savannahs are highly intelligent, playful, affectionate, and loyal cats that create an incredibly strong bond with their owners, which is exactly what many people are looking for in a pet. In addition, Savannah cats are generally healthy and can live for up to 18 years if well taken care of. In 2022, a 20-year-old F2 Savannah cat from Oakland County, Michigan entered the Guinness World Records book as the tallest living domestic cat.


Post a Comment

Post a Comment (0)

- -
To Top